There’s Something About Mary

There’s Something About Mary is the newest movie on the AFI 100 Years 100 Laughs list, at a very respectable number 27 (it was released in 1998). This is one of the five movies that I had seen prior to undertaking my 100 Years 100 Laughs project. My parents had it on video, which they had recorded from TV (those were the days), and I watched it at the far too young age of 11 when I was sick from school one day (I made sure I rewound the tape before they got home so they didn’t know).

There’s Something About Mary is a Bobby and Peter Farrelly movie, starring Ben Stiller as Ted, a 29 year old man still crushing on his high school prom date, Mary, played by Cameron Diaz. His prom night was cancelled due to an unfortunate zipper incident. He hires Pat (Matt Dillon), a private detective to find her thirteen years later.The premise is very creepy, but it has a surprising amount of heart. It also stars British comedian Lee Evans, Lin Shaye, Chris Elliott, Jeffrey Tambor, Keith David and Sarah Silverman, amongst others.

This was released at the start of what I would call Ben Stiller’s heyday, of 1998 – 2004. This would be his greatest film. This was probably also Cameron Diaz’s best ever role, she showed her romantic comedy chops in this one, especially during the most memorable scene of the movie. You know which one.

jizzhair

I liked this movie the first time I watched it, even though I was 11 and didn’t get a lot of the jokes, including the eyebrow raising (or should I say hair raising?) semen scene. I’ve rewatched it since, and I still love it.

Leave a Reply

