Airplane! Surely You Can’t Be Serious?

Airplane! is a 1980 parody of disaster films that were popular in the 1970s. It stars Robert Hays, Julie Hagerty, Leslie Nielsen, Robert Stack, Lloyd Bridges, Peter Graves, Kareem Adbul Jabbar and Lorna Patterson. Robert Hays, a former pilot in the war, jumps on a flight to try to woo back is ex-girlfriend played by Julie Hagerty. He is forced to land an airplane, when the pilots go down sick from food poisoning.

Airplane! is the funniest movie I have ever seen, and as a comedy fan, this makes it my favourite movie of all time. This is one of the five movies I had watched before taking on the 100 Years, 100 Laughs project (although I am a comedy fan, I had neglected to watch Sniffing Glue.jpgthe classics). Airplane! is face paced and silly. It is incredibly quotable, even beyond the famous “Surely you can’t be serious”, “I am serious, and don’t call me Shirley” line. I regularly say that I have a drinking problem when I spill a drink on myself and “looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue” is always a hit.. Well only with the people who have seen the movie, otherwise people will think you’re weird.

This was Leslie Nielsen’s first comedic role, and he turned his hilarious comedic ability into a life long career following Airplane! The Zucker Brothers and Jim Abraham selected him due to his lack of comedy background, to ensure that he would play the character straight. Many other actors in this movie were also chosen for this reason. Nielsen¬†later stars in the Naked Gun franchise and Spy Hard.

Airplane! is a real comedy classic, and should be watched by young and old alike.

Leave a Reply

