Other Times the F Bomb Has Been Dropped on SNL

Kristen Stewart was not the first person to drop the F Bomb on Saturday night Live, in fact she joins a host of other people. Lorne Michaels famously does not like swearing on his show, so the following performers probably got their ass handed to them.

paul-schafferPaul Schaffer, former band leader of David Letterman was supposed to say “flogging” but accidentally said “fucking” in 1979. This was the first time the F bomb had been dropped on live television.

Charles Rocket, somewhat maliciously during the incredibly bad 1980-1981 season in a Who Shot JR sketch said:

I’ve ever been shot in my life. I’d like to know who the fuck did it.

The same episode with Charles Rocket also featured a performance by Prince of Partyup, where he didn’t censor the F bomb either.

In 1997, the hilarious Norm Macdonald coughed and spluttered, then said “what the fuck was that?” during a Weekend Update segment. This incident may have led to his firing in 1998.

In 2005, System of a Down screamed “fuck yeah” during their performance.

jenny-slate-f-bombIn 2009, Jenny Slate was involved in a sketch where her character said ‘fricking’ a lot. Of course this led to an accidental slip up where she said ‘fucking’. Again this may have led to her firing at the end of the season. Several years later, she said the following:

I wonder if I was a boy, if it would matter? I don’t think it would matter as much if I was a boy. I think because I was the new girl, then it mattered … literally, I don’t care. I don’t care that it happened. People should see a woman saying a swear word by mistake rather than seeing a sketch where two people get raped by a gorilla. I don’t understand why that’s more acceptable. Or all the sexist and racist stuff that’s, like, on Two and a Half Men. I don’t care at all. I don’t feel bad. And I’m not sorry, but I am sorry to myself for how I treated myself that year.

Samuel L Jackson in 2012 may have said fuck and bullshit during a sketch. He claimed that Kenan Thompson was supposed to cut him off mid sentence.

 

An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live by James Andrew Miller and Tom Shales is a fantastic oral history of the show.

 

Leave a Reply

