Dr Strangelove or: How I Learned to Turn off a Movie I Didn’t Like

Dr Strangelove Or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb is the first movie I watched on the AFI 100 Years 100 Laughs list that I didn’t like. I found it to be dull and unfunny. I chose to turn it off about halfway through.

Dr Strangelove is a satire of war, starring Peter Sellers – who plays multiple characters.

I think the reason I didn’t enjoy this movie is due to the lack of context I have for the surrounding events – I wasn’t alive during this time and I’m not a war buff, so I think a lot of the satire went sailing over my head. Because I don;t like to be left out of jokes, I intend to watch this movie again after learning some of the context – but I don’t want to do that just yet, there are so many more movies I could be watching from the 100 Years 100 Laughs project.

Leave a Reply

