A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning Part I & II

I’m two episodes deep into A Series of Unfortunate Events, which covers the first book in the Lemony Snicket series, called A Bad Beginning. The entire show’s run will be 26 episodes – two for each book. The pacing of the show seems really good so far (I mean definitely better than the Jim Carrey movie version, which had terrible pacing).

Do you know who plays Count Olaf in the Netflix original A Series of Unfortunate Events?

Reader: Neil Patrick Harris…

WRONG! It’s Neil Patrick Harris. And I mean, look how terrifying he looks in his make up as Count Olaf:

nph

*shudder*

 

NPH is awesome as Count Olaf. The word awesome means legen-wait for it – dary! Legendary. Even though his character is heinous, NPH still brings his infectious sense of humour with him.

I was iffy about Puddy.. I mean Patrick Warburton as Lemony Snicket, but he is also really fantastic in the role, as are the three Baudelaire children – Malina Weissman as Violet, Louis Hynes as Klaus and as baby Sunny – Presley Smith (body) and Tara Strong (voice).

The set design on this show is great, and is really in keeping with the feel of the books.

 

Spoiler alert:

I really thought it was hilarious that in this show Cobie Smulders was the mother (all these How I Met Your Mother references in one post), and of course I love Will Arnett.

End Spoiler

 

I’m looking forward to watching the next two episodes, comprising the book The Reptile Room.

Leave a Reply

