Best Light Movies of 2016

never-stopPopstar Never Stop Never Stopping

Popstar Never Stop Never Stopping really flew under the radar. I’m not sure if there were marketing budget issues, but it was a seriously funny movie. Starring Lonely Island members Andy Samberg, Akiva Schaffer and Jorma Taccone, it is a mockumentary loosely based on popstar documentaries like Justin Bieber’s Never Say Never.

We’d like to get to the point where Connor is everywhere – like oxygen or gravity or clinical depression.

 

swiss-army-manSwiss Army Man

Swiss Army Man stars Paul Dano and Daniel Radcliffe. It’s very hard movie to explain, but I will try. In the first 5 minutes Paul Dano’s character who is trapped on a deserted island and has become suicidal uses a corpse played by Daniel Radcliffe as a jetski to find land. It becomes increasingly bizarre from there.

Despite the crude description, unbelievably it is a sweet, touching and upbeat movie, and everyone should definitely give it a go.

If my best friend hides his farts from me then what else is he hiding from me, and why does that make me feel so alone?

 

fantastic-beastsFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

You’d be living under a rock to not have heard about the new movie series within the Harry Potter universe. It has a fantastic cast of its main four characters – Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler and Alison Sudol (who was absolutely mesmerising when she was on screen). But the real star of the movie was the Niffler.

As a giant Harry Potter nerd, this movie was definitely concerning that they were milking the universe for all it has. JK Rowling was the writer of the screenplay, which definitely added to its high quality.

I love house elves, my uncle is a house elf.

 

Deadpool.jpgDeadpool

Starring Ryan Reynolds humour, TJ Miller’s poor facial hair choices and Ed Skrein’s smug looking face, Deadpool is the single greatest superhero movie to come out this year, but likely the best for many many years. If you haven’t seen it yet, I urge you to.

Deadpool is full of pop culture references (my favourite), jokes about Ryan Reynold’s acting past (and role in the Green Lantern) and a surprisingly decent soundtrack..

If I ever decide to become a crime-fighting shit swizzler, who rooms with a bunch of other little whiners at Neverland Mansion with some creepy, old, bald, Heaven’s Gate-looking motherfucker… on that day, I’ll send your shiny, happy ass a friend request.

 

zootopiaZootopia

Zootopia is one of the best animated movies to come out for a time. It features a storyline that has similarities to race relations – but without being too preachy about it (unlike Sausage Party’s atheism parallels).

Zootopia is worth watching by kids and big kids of all ages.

 

Life isn’t some cartoon musical where you sing a little song and all your insipid dreams magically come true. So let it go.

 

ghostbustersGhostbusters

This is a controversial one – so stay with me a sec. I had never seen Ghostbusters until a couple of weeks before seeing the new reboot. The original one was ok, I’m sure I would like it more if I watched it as a kid and I had nostalgia for it.. But I don’t.

That’s why I think that I liked the new Ghostbusters. I didn’t have strong opinions about the original to compare it to, so it just felt like a Paul Feig movie to me (Bridesmaids, Spy) – plus I really loved the cast of Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Wiig, Leslie Jones, Kate McKinnon and Chris Hemsworth.

I’m sad that the fans of the original didn’t like the reboot like I did, but I get it.. It’s different, the feel is different.. And unfortunately some detractors are outright sexist (but not all).

OK, I don’t know if it’s a race thing or a lady thing but I’m mad as hell.

Leave a Reply

