Best Celebrity Books of 2016

Welcome to the second part of the Kneel Before Pop’s Best of 2016 series!

2016 has been a big year for celebrity books. Like a lot of people, my to be read pile is longer than my read pile – so I apologise in advance for the larger special mentions section.

Celebrity books can be pretty hit and miss.. Bossy Pants by Tina Fey is an example of where it can all go wrong (just joking, Tina Fey is my queen).

slnScrappy Little Nobody – Anna Kendrick

Anna Kendrick, star of Pitch Perfect, Into the Woods, James Corden’s Soundtrack to a Love Story and Soundtrack to Growing Up released this memoir in 2016. There’s a lot about breaking into show business, that she was broke for a long time, even while being the star of Up in the Air. There’s not a lot about her time on Pitch Perfect, which was really disappointing. I love that movie and it would be interesting to learn more about what happened on set.

“I lost a Tony award to Broadway legend Audra McDonald when I was twelve so I’ve been a bitter bitch since before my first period.”

All in all it was a reasonable book, a solid 3.5 / 5 stars.

 

 

lbtThe Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer

Amy Schumer is a very divisive comic, some people love her, some people think that she steals jokes, is a sex comic (eww she’s a woman talking about sex – gross..) or that she has poor delivery. I’m on the fence – I like her sometimes and sometimes I don’t.

“If you’re a true introvert, other people are basically energy vampires. You don’t hate them; you just have to be strategic about when you expose yourself to them—like the sun.”

I liked this book. She talks about being an introvert a bit, and overcoming those issues on the road. She talks about her family – including a disgusting, hilarious and touching story about her dad shitting himself in an airport.

I recommend giving this book a go if you like Amy Schumer. 3.5 / 5 stars.

celebrity-run-insCelebrity Run-ins – Kathy Griffin

I’ve already written a post about this book here.

I love Kathy Griffin and Anderson Cooper’s relationship dynamic. If you haven’t seen them together, please go and have a look on Youtube. Kathy is the perfect person to ruffle Anderson’s feathers. Anderson Cooper has a chapter dedicated to him in this book.

3.5 / 5 Stars.

 

tafaicTalking as Fast as I Can – Lauren Graham

Lauren Graham (Lorelai Gilmore in Gilmore Girls) wrote a memoir this year. I am a bit over halfway through it – and I’m really enjoying it – however again not many stories yet of her on set of Gilmore Girls. Hopefully that comes in the second half of the book.

Lauren Graham has actually published a novel already, called Someday Someday Maybe.

Oy with the poodles already.

I don’t want to rate it yet, I mean it could turn into Mein Kampf at the end – but let me guess – I think it might be 3.5 / 5 stars.

 

 

Special mentions (mostly because I haven’t read them yet – but I will) –

 

Leave a Reply

